On National Pride

-This post is dedicated to all the crooked politicians, banksters, and news people.

-I want to be proud of my country. But I cannot.

I want to believe in my country. But I cannot.

I want to hope that my country’s future is brighter than its past. But I hold no such hope.

I used to think that this country was run on the principles of individual liberty, limited government, and representative government by the people and for the people. I see now that it runs on none of these things.

I used to think that a large, tyrannical government was for countries like China, Soviet Russia, or North Korea. I am now watching with my own eyes as the government of my country continues its unprecedented growth in power, size, censorship, tyranny.

I used to think that massive surveillance states were the fiction of movies like The Matrix. Now I see our very own surveillance state looming large.

I used to think that my Washingtonian representatives were working in the collective best interest of their nation. I now see that they are working in the collective best interests of themselves.

I used to respect my President at a certain level, even if I disagreed with his policies, because at least he was trying to do what he thought was right for the country, and at least he led. I now see that he neither a competent leader nor acting in our nation’s best interest, and I no longer respect his office.

I used to think that the government would respect individual rights. I now see that it aims to limit and slowly erode them away.

I used to think that some elephantine politicians were interested in reigning in the size and growth of our federal government. I now see that said politicians are elephants for a reason, that reason being the covert assurance to the donkeys that in time, the federal government will not only be elephantine itself, but will go on to dwarf whales and to crush any citizens in its megalomaniacal path.

I used to think that the government could manage its budget…just joking; I’ve never thought that.

I used to think that my way of life would continue on unabated into the distant future. I now firmly believe that in 20 to 50 years’ time, should I live so long, I will not recognize the land I am held prisoner in.

I used to believe that college helped people get jobs. Now I see it for the scam that it is.

I used to believe that education served a definite purpose in this country. Now I ask, “Why the hell are we in school all those years?” It seems to be a rather large waste of time.

I used to think that the nation would pay a little attention to the economic prosperity and productivity of its citizens. I now see that it values foreigners over us plebians.

I used to think that the “American Dream” was actually achievable by the average Joe and Jane. I now have awakened from such fantasies and shunned dreams, choosing instead to brace for the harsh reality.

I used to believe in America. Now, I am amazed that I ever could have.

I want to believe in this country again. I want to have hope in its future. But all I see on the horizon is darkness, decay, and decline unto destruction. So I, and hopefully you, am preparing to navigate it.

Leave a Reply

